Bank President James I. Perkins with customers

Citizens 1st Bank History

Citizens 1st Bank was chartered in Rusk on April 6, 1920. During the past 90+ years, the bank has had only three presidents - B. B. Perkins, E. R. Gregg, and the current President, James I. Perkins. Our current President has served since 1971 providing stability and leadership for the bank.

Throughout the years, Citizens 1st Bank has grown steadily, sometimes spectacularly, but always with strength. When the bank completed its first day of

business in 1920, it had deposits of $105,000 with capital of $50,000. As of December 31, 2021, the assets of the bank were $800,996,580 with capital of $141,697,726, making Citizens 1st Bank one of the safest banks in the United States.*

Because of Citizens 1st Bank's conservative philosophy and strong leadership, it was able to expand from its strong foundation in 1990 and 1991 with the purchase of four savings and loan associations, giving it locations in Tyler (now its home office), Nacogdoches and Jacksonville, along with the original office in Rusk.

Throughout the years Citizens 1st Bank has used the core principles of good customer service and conservative business practices to become the bank it is today. Citizens 1st Bank is one of the highest rated banks in the Nation by Weiss Ratings, Bauer Financial Reports and Veribank Bank Rating Company. We are proud of the communities we serve and welcome the opportunity to continue to serve today and into the future.

Equal Housing Lender